Friday, April 9, 2010

Hennessy Shortlist

Hennessy Announces Shortlist for 2009 Hennessy XO Literary AwardsThe 2009 Hennessy XO Literary Awards shortlist has been announced. The competition will be judged by poet Paula Meehan and novelist Carlo Gébler.The awards will be announced at a ceremony in Trinity College on Tuesday, 20th April 2010. On the night one eminent Irish writer will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Previous Hall of Fame awards have gone to Hugo Hamilton, Joseph O’Connor, Anne Enright, Colum McCann and Pat McCabe.Now in its 39th year, the competition offers four awards, First Fiction, Emerging Fiction, Emerging Poetry and the overall Hennessy XO Literary Award itself. Category winners will receive €1,500 and a specially commissioned sculpture. The winner of the overall award will be chosen from the three category winners and will receive an additional €2,500. The full list of nominees is below:First FictionRob O’SheaMadeleine D’ArcySarah O’LoughlinJohn O’DonnellOona FrawleyAlice RedmondEmerging FictionJames LawlessAndrew FoxMichael O’HigginsNiamh BoyceAlison WellsKate DempseyEmerging PoetryMichael MasseyOlive BroderickAideen HenryCathal McCabeHelena MulkernsCliona O’ConnellFrom Irish Publishing News - I'm in the Emerging Fiction Category - The list was published today - so it must be true! Very Exciting. Can't wait for the night out, dont know what to expect! Good luck Everyone.


Anonymous said...

Congratulations and enjoy the night !

Emerging Writer said...

Congrats to you too. See you then

Anonymous said...

Hi Niamh,

Congrats! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I answered there! It will be great to meet both yourself and Kate and the other writers. All the best, Alison.